Mountain Adventures & New England

This blog is about children’s books. But I haven’t really decided who it’s for yet. Will kids like to read it? Maybe not–it might be too wordy and pedantic, although I will link to it on the Saugus Public Library’s children’s website. I’m hoping some kids who like to read the same kinds of books as me will read it once in awhile. Children’s librarians or parents? Maybe some. My mom? Definitely!

Each blog post will be about a different book or series of books. I’m going to read children’s books about mountains, wilderness survival, and New England. For that last one, my goal is to read every children’s fiction book set in New England. Not too ambitious, eh? This may take me awhile. Then, of course, there are more books about these things being published all the time.

Blah, blah, blah… another blog about children’s books… blah, blah, blah. Seriously, one unusual concept I’d like to focus on in this blog is where the stories happen. I’m going to match the story against the real facts about places, the land, buildings, etc in the stories. For each book, I’ll do some research (I’m hoping to be a tourist and travel to the locations of some stories), then tell you what I found out. I’ll include maps, pictures, links to informative websites, and report whatever else I find out.

Right now, I’ve got a bunch of library books on my shelf set in Massachusetts. So I’ll begin there. The next post will be about the “Penderwicks” series by Jeanne Birdsall.

5 responses to “Mountain Adventures & New England

  1. Aaron was right! His mother (that’s me) did read the blog….all the way through and enjoyed it very much. I will recommend it to all my young friends who like to read!

  2. Cool! We’ll be watching your blog.

  3. The analyses were well written and fun to read.

  4. I really enjoyed your blog.
    I am one of your mom’s “little friends” and I will recomend it to my sisters.

Leave a Reply

